National Honor Society inducts new members

The Churchville-Chili Chapter of National Honor Society (NHS) welcomed 84 new members to its ranks in a ceremony at the C-C Performing Arts Center on the evening of Nov. 19, 2018. The presentation included messages from the newly elected club officers and the 2018 Churchville-Chili Teacher of the Year, Peter Marino. 

Principal Scott Wilson welcomed attendees, followed by NHS Advisor Paul Glor, who detailed the history and goals of the national organization. Each of the new NHS officers shared a brief message with the audience on one of the four criteria for membership in NHS: leadership, character, service and scholarship. Senior officers this year are: Lilly Gleason (President), Jenna Guyette (Vice President), Serafina Wezelis (Treasurer) and Grace Hunt (Secretary). 

Teacher of the Year Peter Marino then addressed members. The honor is given to a teacher who makes a real difference in the lives of students. Teachers are nominated by current NHS members and a winner is chosen by officers. ELA teacher Marino was selected because he is “kind, caring and a good role model;” “a tough, but fair grader” who “challenges students to become better writers and critical thinkers.” Marino teaches several courses at the high school, including Pre-AP English, AP Literature and Theory of Knowledge. He has taught in the district for 17 years. He said that his philosophy of teaching is “to be as well informed and as energetic as possible, and to try my best to connect my subject to the rest of the world.”

During the presentation of the candidates, current NHS members escorted new members across the stage while biographies from their applications were read by the club officers. They were then accepted and congratulated by District Superintendent Lori Orologio, Wilson, Glor and Marino. New members received a certificate and signed their name in the club registry.

Print This Article
© 2019. Churchville - Chili Central School District. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website