Article: College Board National Recognition Programs Scholars

College Board National Recognition Programs Scholars

Four students with principal

Churchville-Chili High School seniors Shelby Bulbulian, Ryan Hewitson, Audrey Kohlman and Jon LeFrois have achieved the designation of College Board National Recognition Programs Scholars for 2020. The honor is given to students who took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT) in 2019, scored in the top 2.5%, and attend school in a rural area or small town and/or identify as African American, Indigenous, Hispanic American or Latinx. Students also must have earned a cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher by the middle of their junior year.
"These students have worked hard and excelled throughout their high school careers,” said Principal Scott Wilson. “Colleges and universities are searching for talented, high-achieving students like them. This recognition of their academic success will help their applications stand out and open up more opportunities.”
Each of the four seniors received an award letter and certificate for excellence in academic achievement that they can include in their college and scholarship applications.
The College Board is a not-for-profit organization that connects students to college success and opportunity, made up of over 6,000 of the world’s leading educational institutions. The College Board National Recognition Programs (CBRP) create pathways to college for students from underrepresented communities by awarding them academic honors and connecting them with universities and scholarship programs across the country.

Photo: College Board National Recognition Programs Scholars with Churchville-Chili High School Principal Scott Wilson (center), (l-r) Shelby Bulbulian, Audrey Kohlman, Jon LeFrois and Ryan Hewitson.

Print This Article
© 2020. Churchville - Chili Central School District. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website