Article: New 2019 Athletic Hall of Fame members

New 2019 Athletic Hall of Fame members

New members along with current members (see caption for details)

A ceremony recognizing the latest five inductees to Churchville-Chili High School’s Athletic Hall of Fame was held at the school on Dec. 6, 2019. The school’s Athletic Hall of Fame celebrates the accomplishments of outstanding athletes, coaches and contributors who have made a significant impact on Saints athletics. Honorees were welcomed by Churchville-Chili Athletic Director Michael Murray, along with a number of special presenters and an audience of well-wishers, including many current Hall of Fame members. Recognized for their contributions to the school’s athletic program were:

Alan Fodge – Class of 1968 
Three-sport (baseball, basketball, soccer) athlete Alan Fodge helped the 1965 soccer team win both the Monroe County division and Section V Class B titles with a 16-1 record. He led the baseball team to two consecutive league titles in 1966 and 1967, and his batting average of .462 remains in the school’s Top Ten. In 1968, he was awarded the James Widener Memorial Trophy for outstanding athlete of the year, and went on to play soccer and baseball at the University of Rochester.
Andre´ G. Fontenette – Class of 2000
As one of the best receivers and kick returners in school history, Andre´ Fontenette set many school records in football. He was 1st team All-County (1998), 1st team All-Greater Rochester (1999) and was selected for the 2000 Governor’s Bowl. He received a scholarship to Syracuse University, played in the Bowl in 2001 and the Champs Sports Bowl in 2004. As a three-sport athlete, Fontenette also set the basketball school record for most assists in in one season and was 1st team All-County and MVP of the 1998 track & field team. He went on to coach both college and high school football.
Rich Rose – Class of 1965
Churchville-Chili’s Outstanding Athlete of 1965 and three-sport (soccer, basketball, baseball) athlete, Rich Rose was 1st team All-County on the 1963 soccer team that won the division title. He captained the team in 1964, again making 1st team All-County. He was the leading scorer at 19.7 points per game for the 1963-64 basketball team, which won the division title. He set many school records in scoring and assists. Rose played soccer at Roberts Wesleyan College and was inducted into their Hall of Fame in 1995.
Adam C. Steinwachs – Class of 1995
Adam Steinwachs was All-County and won Section V titles in both indoor track and track & field. In 1995, he was team MVP, Monroe County track & field champion in triple jump, Section V Class AA track & field champion in pole vault and triple jump, and the school’s Male Athlete of the Year. He also was the Section V Class AA track & field champion in the triple jump in 1994 and graduated with several school records. Some of these still stand today. He ran track at Ashland University where he was part of seven conference championship teams. He became a successful track coach before joining the U.S. Army.
Jeff Winden – Class of 1990 
Jeff Winden set school records and racked up honors and Section V titles in all three of his sports: cross country, indoor track and track & field. As the Section V Class BB individual champion in cross country in 1989, he is the only male in C-C history to accomplish this. He was 1st team All-County in track & field for four seasons and was the 1990 Male Athlete of the Year. Later, at SUNY Fredonia, Winden was a two-time All-American in both cross country and indoor track and was inducted into the Fredonia Athletic Hall of Fame. 

This is the third year for the Churchville-Chili High School’s Athletic Hall of Fame, which now boasts 20 honored members. Nominations are being accepted for next year’s induction. To get more information and nomination forms, visit the district website at

Photo: (l-r, front) Athletic Hall of Fame 2019 Inductees Alan Fodge, Andre' G. Fontenette, Rich Rose, Sharon and Joe Steinwachs (Parents of Adam C. Steinwachs) and Jeff Winden. (l-r, back) Churchville-Chili High School Athletic Director Michael Murray with current Athletic Hall of Fame members Felicia Barretta, John Carr, David Harvey-Bowen, Joanna Patalano, Mimi Rague, Bob Shaffer and Randy Shaffer.

Print This Article
© 2020. Churchville - Chili Central School District. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website