Article: Black Scholars Early Recognition Program

Black Scholars Early Recognition Program

The Urban League of Rochester's Black Scholars Early Recognition Program honors seniors and underclassmen who are well on their way to achieving at least a "B" average throughout high school. A certificate presentation ceremony was held for our scholars on November 5 at Nazareth College. Certificates were distributed to those unable to attend at the CCPAC with guest Taurian Uthman from the Urban League.

This June, graduating seniors will be honored at the annual Salute to Black Scholars Dinner. Approximately $2.5 million in college scholarships are awarded at this event.

The Black Scholars Program provides high school students with assistance applying to college, academic recognition, and scholarships. The program supports students in the Greater Rochester metropolitan area (the City of Rochester and the six surrounding counties) who achieve a cumulative GPA of "B" (80) or better in high school. Workshops are held every spring and fall to prepare college-bound students and their parents for the college selection process, admissions testing, completion of college applications, financial aid paperwork, and other “college survival” tools and tips.

The program also features the Black Scholars Endowment Fund, which provides assistance to help college students who have exhausted all other sources of financial aid to remain in school. The program is funded through corporate sponsorships, committee fundraising activities, and general funds. The program reaches approximately 1,800 students each year.
Early Recognition Black Scholars Ceremony

Congratulations to our Churchville-Chili High School Early Recognition Black Scholars:
Olufemi Akinpelu
Isabella Akins
Paige Bagley
Enouph Bennett
Juanita Bishop
Jordan Bracey
Malachi Brown Tomaszewski
Tristan Bryant
Elijah Burnley
Jace Carter
Phillip Clark
Jaxxon Cody
Madeleine Dingus
Akossiwa Dossou
Rudolph Fahnbulleh
Anisa Flowers Thompson
Myiah Garcia
Jason Gibbs
Amya Gibson
Jayden Gourdine
Samuel Grant
Zoria Hughes
Levi Jackson
Serenity Jager
Emma Jenkins
Kolby Jones
Sarai Jones-Langston
Destiny June
Ricardo Lagares
Omari Leach
Giavanna Leuci
Jehzara Lewin
Miguel Martinez-Gilbert
Ambar Montilla Rubio
Ay'rianna Moore
Karia Musabandesu
Eric Neal
Amani Nur
Sydney Parker
Ava Peevey
Sydney Postell
Antonio     Rivera
Calyse Russell
Salina Salters
Jayden Sanza
Nevaeh Starks
Keanu Thompson
Mikenna (Chris) Tolliver
JaQuia Williams
Ajani Wilson

Print This Article
© 2023. Churchville - Chili Central School District. All Rights Reserved.
View text-based website